The Porch Light

Standard

Today I’m feeling a little fearful.  Life sometimes takes its toll on me.  I don’t want fear to win over, but when my guard is down-kapow!  Things change…plans fail.  I need a psalm about now.  Something to snap me out of it.

Psalm 103:2-6

Praise the Lord, I tell myself, and never forget the things he does for me.  He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases.  He ransoms me from death and surrounds me with love the tender mercies.  He fills my life with good things.  My youth is renewed like the eagles!  The Lord gives righteousness and justice to all who are treated unfairly.

I’ve had my share of unfairness.  In fact, some things in my life seem unfair right now.  They cause my fear.  Then I have to remember I’ve had more than my share of blessings as well.  That’s a little unfair too because I don’t deserve it.  God gave it to me any way.  And so I have to remember when I’m fearful, God has been here and God’s here now.  He knows where I am.  He knows where to find me when I’m off hiding somewhere.  Why is it easier to shiver with fear than to praise the one who has done so much for me?  I need to go to Him.

Psalm 9:10

Those who know your name trust in you, for you, O Lord, have never abandoned anyone who searches for you.

Praise be the porch light.  God’s is always on.  And when I arrive I find comfort and ability to shrug off the fear and accept his presence.

Leave a Reply

