Who can forget the wonders He performs?

Standard

It’s the start of a day like any other day.  Wake up. Wash face. Brush teeth (love fresh breath). Greet family.  Help get everyone out the door to where they need to be.  Dog goes out.  Dog gets walk (well most of the time).  Wait…God time.  Stop.  Where am I in the Psalms?  111: 1-4

I will thank the Lord with all my heart
as I meet with his godly people.
How amazing are the deeds of the Lord!
All who delight in him should ponder them.
Everything he does reveals his glory and majesty.
His righteousness never fails.
He causes us to remember his wonderful works.
How gracious and merciful is our Lord!

I look out the window and from where I sit I can only see a pure crayon blue sky, the stoic trunk and off-shoots of a tree that’s seen at least 100 years of wonder around it, and sunlight glistening through perfectly green leaves that hang this way and that.  There’s a slight chill in the air that suggests summer days are soon to be a memory.  I’m cozy, wrapped in a nubby throw that protects and warms and I can hear the occasional sound of my beloved dog alerting me that something is going on outside that is different than the norm for her.   And now I repeat aloud:

I will thank the Lord with all my heart
as I meet with his godly people.
How amazing are the deeds of the Lord!
All who delight in him should ponder them.
Everything he does reveals his glory and majesty.
His righteousness never fails.
He causes us to remember his wonderful works.
How gracious and merciful is our Lord!

For so many times I use moments to complain about the unsatisfactory conditions of my life, to share what isn’t right and isn’t fair.  To exclaim about some injustice that lurks around me.  It’s way too easy to fall into that trap.  It takes much more effort to say how gracious and merciful is our Lord.  Look around.  Be still and listen.  Let it all soak in.  Not just nature, but the goodness that is in your life in physical ways.  Write it down.  Write ten awesome things that are good in your life right now.  He performs wonders.  We often forget.  I want to change that in me.  You too?

Show my forgetful feet the way,

That leads to joys on high.

There knowledge grows without decay,

And love shall never die.

Isaac Watts

Leave a Reply

