Fear and Faith Can’t Co-exist

Standard

I want to sleep longer- it’s Saturday after all.  I can’t.  My mind is spinning and the more it spins the more questions race through. I interviewed for  a new job, I need a new job, I’ll have to give up a lot, we are selling our house, where are we going to live, how much money will I earn, how much money do I have to earn, would I rather wear a red shirt and khaki pants, am I selling myself short, do I deserve a better job, why didn’t they like me, what if they did like me, what will my drive be like, what if I get the job, what if I don’t get the job, where are we going to live, what if I can’t do what they think I can do, what if they aren’t what I thought they would be….I’m tired.  I want to sleep longer. I can’t…

And then my brain just says stop!

You aren’t being good to yourself.  You aren’t being good to anyone like this.  Of course you have questions.  Of course you wonder what is going to happen next.  Of course there is uncertainty.  Breathe.  Remember 4-7-8?  Breathe.  There’s nothing wrong with asking the questions.  It’s the answers you come up with that make the difference.

And while you are taking long deep breaths add the thought of trust.  Trust in the Lord for whom it’s written hundreds of times has unfailing love for you. Fear and faith can’t co-exist.  

Psalm 9:10 – Those who know your name trust in you, for you, O lord, have never abandoned anyone who searches for you.

I’m searching.  I know You are there.  I just got off track for a moment.  I let my mind run wild and this wild weed starting growing.  I was afraid.  Now I’ve found you again and I feel peace.  Forgive my errant way there.  Psalm 65:3 Though our hearts are filled with sins, you forgive them all. I  am not abandoned.  You know exactly what is in store for me.  Psalm 65: 5 You faithfully answer our prayers with awesome deeds.

I need to replace my words of worry with words of gratitude.  I need to recall every single time that life has worked out when I thought it wouldn’t.  It’s countless.  In fact, it’s every time.  Fear and faith can’t co-exist.

Be still…know He is God.   Now get a good night’s rest.  Let God handle the worrying  -he’s up any way.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything through prayer and petition, with a thankful heart, make your requests known to God.  Then there will be peace.   Fear and faith can’t co-exist.

Leave a Reply

