Start Acting Like A Child

Standard
Start Acting Like A Child

I love the Lord because he hears and answers my prayers.  Because he bends down and listens, I will pray as long as I have breath!  Death had its hands around my throat; the terrors of the grave overtook me.  I saw only trouble and sorrow.  Then I called on the name of the Lord, “Please Lord save me!”  How kind the Lord is.  How good he is! So merciful, this God of ours!  The Lord protects those of childlke faith; I was facing death, and then he saved me.  Now I can rest again, for the Lord has been so good to me.  He has saved me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling.  And so I walk in the Lord’s presence as I live here on earth!

Psalm 116:1-9

I woke to read this Psalm today and found the limited words screaming at me.  There’s not much to add; I don’t want to dilute the impact.   The Psalm is reaffirming.  It leaves me with questions to explore about myself.  Do I have childlike faith?  Can I play that game of trust where you close your eyes and fall back into the arms of people standing around you knowing they will catch you, only with God and my heart? Do I really know God has my back?  Do I believe with certainty that He is hearing my prayers?  Do I believe without doubt He has the ability to answer my prayers and respond beyond my wildest imaginations?  That’s childlike faith.  It’s pure. It’s real.  It’s simple.

Not everything works out the way I want.  It works out the way God wants.  We can’t begin to know His master plan.  We can only know, with the faith of a child, that whatever He does in our life, or we allow Him to do in our life, is good.  He is the one set of arms we can absolutely count on to catch us when we fall back- each and every time.  What can I do today to be more like a child?

One response »

  1. I love this post! Sometimes it’s so hard to have that childlike trust in God. I can say all the right words that I believe He will do the things He can but deep down, I wonder if I really have that childlike trust. This is a great post and psalm to ponder. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

