Beyond Comprehension

Standard

Do you know how many stars are in the Milky Way galaxy?  I’ve heard something like 200 billion. In Psalm 147 it says God counts the stars and knows them by name.  That’s 200 billion and that’s just in one galaxy.  In Psalm 139 we are told God knows the number of hairs on our head. There are over 7 billion people in the world right now. Some of us make it easier for Him to count hairs 🙂  but still.  Talk about being detail oriented.  He is amazing and that word doesn’t really describe the magnitude of his magnificence.

After a typical day of highs and lows, I finally laid down to rest.  Thoughts were darting through my head from the day’s activities.  A single tear fell from the corner of my eye.  I’ve put a little too much on my shoulders today.  Rather than lay there I decided to get up and read.  Of my many choices I opened the Psalms.  After I read one or two of them I’d be better- like medicine you know?

I read a powerful one that pulled me in for a few read-throughs.  It spoke to me where I am. I’m still counting up how many Psalms talk about God’s unfailing love.  It’s a continuous theme throughout.  That will be for another blog.  What struck me in Psalm 147 was God’s compassion for healing the brokenhearted and binding up their wounds and that His understanding of each of our situations is beyond comprehension.  So not only does he know the names of 200 billion stars, he knows the concerns of 7 billion people and the number of hairs on each of their heads. That leaves me awe-struck and comforted.  He saw my single tear fall from my eye.  Perhaps this Psalm was the binding he put on my wound.

Psalm 147:1-11

Praise the Lord!

How good to sing praises to our God!
How delightful and how fitting!
The Lord is rebuilding Jerusalem
and bringing the exiles back to Israel.
He heals the brokenhearted
and bandages their wounds.
He counts the stars
    and calls them all by name.
5 How great is our Lord! His power is absolute!
    His understanding is beyond comprehension!
The Lord supports the humble,
but he brings the wicked down into the dust.

Sing out your thanks to the Lord;
sing praises to our God with a harp.
He covers the heavens with clouds,
provides rain for the earth,
and makes the grass grow in mountain pastures.
He gives food to the wild animals
and feeds the young ravens when they cry.
10 He takes no pleasure in the strength of a horse
or in human might.
11 No, the Lord’s delight is in those who fear him,
    those who put their hope in his unfailing love.

Leave a Reply

