Unfailing Love

Standard

Unfailing love..always able to supply more, inexhaustible, constant, unflagging, incapable of error, infallible, not failing,not giving way, not falling short of expectation, completely dependable, inexhaustible, endless, always reliable, certain.

This isn’t meant to make you feel bad.  It’s meant to provide true understanding of what unfailing love really is.  We probably all have at least one person for whom we believe we have unfailing love.  I do.  In fact, I’m blessed to think I have more than one person.  Then I read the definitions.  I haven’t always been dependable for those people.   Sometimes I have fallen short of their expectations.  There have been days when I didn’t think I could supply more love.  Sometimes it’s been exhausting to love these people.  This doesn’t mean I don’t love them.  I think it means I’m mortal.  I’m human.  I’m of this world.

I can think of people who I said I love you to with the deepest emotion and sincerity imaginable.  Today I couldn’t tell you where they live.

Every year I read through the book of Psalms. It’s enlightening, reinforcing, relieving.  This time I started to write down (yes the old-fashioned manual way) every verse that related to how God takes care of His people.  I needed that reassurance desperately in my life.  As I wrote over the days and weeks and months I realized a phrase used over and over.  God’s unfailing love.  I’m going to keep counting, but up to Psalm 119 the text mentions God’s unfailing love about 30 times.   That doesn’t include phrases like his “faithful love”.  Just His unfailing love.  God must feel that’s really important for us to know.  When we have done things we are ashamed to admit to we have His unfailing love.  When our pains and sorrow are at their greatest we have His unfailing love.  When those we love hurt us or leave us we have His unfailing love.  When we fall short of everyone’s expectations we have His unfailing love.  When we get ourselves into binds that seem impossible to get out of we have His unfailing love.  When we fail again.  When we can’t love ourselves or others…we have His unfailing love.  Over and over and over again we have that reassurance.  His promise to always supply more,  to be inexhaustible, constant, unflagging,  inerrant, infallible, not failing, not giving way, not falling short of expectation, completely dependable, inexhaustible, endless, always reliable and certain.  That’s God’s unfailing love…for us all.

Leave a Reply

