FEAR…NOT

Standard

Years and years ago I was going through a rough spot in my personal life.  I was feeling desperate and out of sorts.  I had failed in so many ways.  I wasn’t living the life of the person I wanted to be.  I had hurt people and was hurt by them.  The dreams I had were crushed.  I was sinking.  At that time the church I belonged to had a devotional phone line.  You could call in and hear an inspiring message that changed daily.  It was brief, but for a desperate person it was a rescue and hope.  Through my tears and disarray I made the call and the recorded message told me: Cast your cares upon the Lord and He will sustain you.  He will never let the righteous fall.  It was Psalm 55:22 and it became MY verse from that time forward.  A brief message followed, but the words that remained were those above.  I think I might have redialed that number half a dozen times just to hear those words again and again.

I had more cares than I had the strength to cast, but as I was able to throw them off layer by layer I could breathe.  I wrote the verse down on a ripped sheet of paper that I carried in my wallet for years.  It reminded me time and time again that God’s shoulders were much broader than mine and He could handle any challenge I sent His way.  Not only was He able…He did.  Time and time again He did not leave me or forget me.  He wouldn’t let me fall.

Right after Psalm 55:22 you come across Psalm 56 that shares (3-4) But when I am afraid, I put my trust in you. O God, I praise your word.  I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? Further in Psalm 56:8- You keep track of all of my sorrows.  You have collected all my tears in your bottle.  You have recorded each one in your book.

This is a God who knows our pains.  He doesn’t always stop them.  He loves us enough to let us go through them, but always walking along side of us.  We grow through our pain and our sorrow and somehow come out better for it in the long run.

Most of my troubles come from my short fallings.  If I could figure out a way to stop my problems from ever occurring I’d be way better off.  But then I wouldn’t be human. I wouldn’t be like every other type of person who walks the face of the earth with their good days and bad days.  Instead, I accept my humanity and I remember with gratefulness beyond measure to cast my cares upon the Lord and He will sustain me.

Leave a Reply

