My Matrix moment

Standard

I’m reclassifying my current state as my Matrix moment.  Do you recall the first time you saw the movie The Matrix with Keanu Reeves?  It had those super cool freeze moments where Keanu would be in battle, leap in the air in some amazing body-contorting posture and then to defy gravity the cinematographer would freeze the position for a few seconds before reality ensued again?  That’s how I’m feeling about life right now. Although I’m not looking anywhere near as cool as Keanu did in his black leather duster and Neo sunglasses–but, I could you know!

In my last post I talked about thinking my life direction was going to be clarified based on an event that took place last weekend, but it only confused me more.  I was driving yesterday and this vision of me in that Neo-Matrix moment crossed my mind.  I was running forward, even in battle, if you will, and all the sudden everything stopped.  There was a moment where I took a leap that I thought would finish off the battle, but I got caught in that gravity defying Cirque du soleil trick and I’m just frozen in the air right now.  

Except I’m not really frozen.  I’m moving forward.  I’m not just waiting.  Life calls and I have to continue on with all that.  Let’s say instead that the subject of directionally where my life is ultimately headed is frozen for the moment.  The rest of me is running quickly like a rodent on a hamster wheel.  

The good news- I do know where I’m ultimately headed.  I do know who is in charge and He is much more inventive and creative than I.  He’s got plans I can’t begin to fathom.  I’m working on changing my attitude to anticipating what is in store vs. looking with gloom at what I’m going to HAVE to do next.  

I heard a speaker on the radio sharing a story about the three men who were sent to the fiery furnace by King Nebuchadnezzar to burn to death.  This is the Bible story from Daniel.  As you recall, the king did not succeed.  God intervened and the men, though smack dab in the middle of the fire, were not even charred.  The commentator made the point that God did not save the men FROM the fire.  He saved the men IN the fire.  That was deep for me.  God lets us have a multitude of experiences in our lives, both good and bad, AND he walks with us through each and every one of them.  

His love endures forever.  

Psalm 124: Our help is from the Lord who made Heaven and earth!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

