God why?

Standard

My heart is broken to learn of the devastating shooting that took place earlier today in Newton, Connecticut at Sandy Hook Elementary School.  At current reporting 26 adults and children have been killed.  I don’t understand why.  I’ll never understand why.  Please pray for the families, relatives, friends and the community.  The impact of this event will be far-reaching.  We need God’s healing hands and loving arms to be wrapped around us all right now.  It will be easy for people to say there is no God or that He doesn’t care.  We know God exists.  We know we have redemption through Jesus Christ, our Savior.  There is no explanation I can think of for this tragedy.  For now I will share a Psalm of comfort, dwell on its words and pray.  The fear the victims confronted now rests in the loving arms of Jesus and they are at rest in Heavenly peace.

Psalm 73: 21-26

When my heart was grieved
    and my spirit embittered,
22 I was senseless and ignorant;
    I was a brute beast before you.

23 Yet I am always with you;
    you hold me by my right hand.
24 You guide me with your counsel,
    and afterward you will take me into glory.
25 Whom have I in heaven but you?
    And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
26 My flesh and my heart may fail,
    but God is the strength of my heart
    and my portion forever.

 
One response »

  1. So sad. Is it because people slowly lose the idea of a personal God that created people w/ purpose and value that this stuff becomes more an option in folks’ head? I know that’s horribly simplistic, but I get so sad that people lose any sense of value of their own or others’ lives.

Leave a Reply

