Unplugged

Standard

Yesterday morning’s routine started as most where I wake up, freshen up a bit and then go on a morning walk with my dog to get both of us exercised and clear-thinking for the day. Spring hasn’t quite gotten the idea that it’s time for it’s arrival yet so the weather outside was a little crisp-like the first bite of fresh Gala apple.
As I assembled myself for the walk I couldn’t find my earbuds anywhere. The typical routine includes my listening to a select number of radio programs on the journey to help camouflage the distance we are trying to attain.

I got the novel idea to free myself from Tune-In and just listen to the natural sounds that surrounded us. I wanted to use my senses to absorb the environment and try to get in touch with the beautiful creations that God gifted to us.

Once I warmed to the slight chill in the air my first sight of beauty was seeing the sun glaze over an initially still pond showing a range of tangerines hues. Slight ripples from a gentle breeze wavered the colors across the water creating interesting effects like the flames of a fire.
Most mornings I notice a few hawks gliding through the sky, but for some reason this day it was two giant black crows. They had words to share that I didn’t understand and swooped up and down around me a few times until they realized my dog and I really weren’t that interesting after all.

The wind picked up slightly and the dry branches of most of the trees tousled about as we passed along our route. Those too timid to sprout displayed the intricate weavings of twigs and leaves that many a bird called home at one time.

A few trees had buds on them, but they must have felt too cold to open up and completely display their colors. Though, there were a few brave enough to expose their flowers with their petals shivering from the cold and breeze.
The terrain is hilly where we walk and there are moments where you see glints of distances miles away with houses and cars and busses hustling to get to their destinations. But that didn’t distract for long as I got reabsorbed in the beauty surrounding me quickly.

What must the first few days of creation been like? A world freshly unpacked and unaffected by man-made things. How did the animals respond to each other? Did the species all get along? The water must have been crystal clear with a purity we will never know in our lifetime. Trees obviously bore fruit. Was the earth filled with color? Was it filled with jumbled sounds from melodic birds? Could you hear a pin drop at night when the stars blazed across the sky? Was the sky so clear it really looked like a curtain of diamonds?
What an amazing 30 minutes I had before reality set in for the day. My dog probably notices this stuff every day. She’s very in tune with her surroundings through her nose and ears and eyes. I take for granted the loveliness God provided to each and every one of us. I need to change that and take advantage of the pleasure that my unplugged walk resulted in. For that unexpected time I give thanks and praise to our Creator.

PSALM 148

1 Praise the Lord.

Praise the Lord from the heavens;
praise him in the heights above.
2 Praise him, all his angels;
praise him, all his heavenly hosts.
3 Praise him, sun and moon;
praise him, all you shining stars.
4 Praise him, you highest heavens
and you waters above the skies.

5 Let them praise the name of the Lord,
for at his command they were created,
6 and he established them for ever and ever—
he issued a decree that will never pass away.

7 Praise the Lord from the earth,
you great sea creatures and all ocean depths,
8 lightning and hail, snow and clouds,
stormy winds that do his bidding,
9 you mountains and all hills,
fruit trees and all cedars,
10 wild animals and all cattle,
small creatures and flying birds,
11 kings of the earth and all nations,
you princes and all rulers on earth,
12 young men and women,
old men and children.

13 Let them praise the name of the Lord,
for his name alone is exalted;
his splendor is above the earth and the heavens.
14 And he has raised up for his people a horn,[b]
the praise of all his faithful servants,
of Israel, the people close to his heart.

Praise the Lord.

One response »

  1. For the very reasons you describe, I frequently walk without listening to anything else but the world around me. It’s kind of a metaphor for how we can go through our lives, too. Trying to cram multiple things in, we often miss the pleasures of creation that surround us.

Leave a Reply

